|In July 1861, following the Union’s disastrous performance at the first
battle of Bull Run, President Abraham Lincoln signed two bills that authorized
enlistments of 1 million 3-year volunteers into the US Army. Among the many who
answered this call, were two Regiments from New York, the 105th and the 94th.
The 105th recruits were primarily from the Lockport, Wyoming, Holley, LeRoy,
Batavia, Brockport, and Rochester areas; the 94th was formed in Jefferson
Both regiments were involved in action at Cedar Mountain, and near the
Rappahannock River. They fought in the Battles of Second Bull Run, Antietam, and
Fredericksburg. After suffering sever casualties at the latter the two regiments
were consolidated and the men of the 105th were transferred to the 94th New York
Volunteer Infantry, 1st Corp, Army of the Potomac.
As the war continued the 94th fought in the Battles of Chancellorsville,
Gettysburg, Cold Harbor, Petersburg, Hatcher’s Run, and Appomattox.
On the morning of July 1st 1863 the 94th was near Emmitsburg Maryland and
marched approximately 8 miles to Gettysburg. When they arrived in Gettysburg
they were placed on Seminary Ridge near the Mummasburg Road. Here they assisted
in repelling several strong attacks by Confederate forces. The
following day, eighty-one Confederate dead were counted in front of
the 94th Position.cont.....>>
|On the second day the 94th was placed on Cemetery Ridge, to the left of the
cemetery, facing the Emmitsburg Road. On the afternoon of the third day the
Division moved to support the Second Corps at the time of Pickett’s Charge, but
the assault was repulsed without its assistance. The total losses for sustained
by the 94th at Gettysburg were 245 men in killed, wounded, captured or missing.
Today a monument honoring the 94th at Gettysburg stands on Doubleday Avenue,
south of the Peace Light Memorial near the area known as Iverson’s Pits.
The Regiment was present at General Robert E. Lee’s surrender of the Army of
Northern Virginia at Appomattox Court house on April 9th 1865, and on May 23rd
1865, they took part in the Grand Review in Washington.
The 94th New York was finally mustered out of service in July 1865, the last
volunteer regiment to leave the Army of the Potomac, earning the title The Last
of the Rear Guard.
The members of the 94th New York Company H Re-enacting Group are both proud
humbled to be able to borrow the name of this very brave and deserving group of
men who fought and died to keep our country together during the Civil War.